The Five Animals

The shaolin five animals consist of dragon, tiger, snake, crane and leopard. Each animal has characteristics that provide the practitioner with an array of offensive and defensive techniques. Only through a mastery of each of these animals can one hope to become a complete kung-fu stylist.

The foundation of kung fu is found through the five animals as follows:

• Tiger — Bones/tendons

Train the tendons through tension and twisting to condition

• Crane — Essence/sinew

Remain calm & focused to regulate the mind and body. Use quick and precise whip like striking

• Leopard — Strength

Build muscular strength and speed

• Snake — Energy

Soft breathing and fluid motions to promote circulation of energy

• Dragon — Spirit

Result from mastery & refinement of previous skills

Kung Fu - Tiger Kung Fu - Crane Kung Fu - Leopard Kung Fu - Snake Kung Fu - Dragon
Kung Fu lessons and classes: High Wycombe, Bourne End, Marlow, Kickboxing lessons and classes: Marlow, Bourne End, Chesham, Hazlemere, Thame, Langley, Bracknell